Tags

,

Let’s start by sharing this fact: I’m a terrible networker, but I’ll manage just fine.

I came across this term the other day, talking with my good friend B. People come into our lives for a reason. Some of them are meant for a lifetime and some of them are only meant for a moment. Both sets are necessary. I can mourn the loss of a moment, but I still have my lifetime of memories to be made.

I am not in the business of “collecting people,” a term for those who fly across your radar just long enough to get what they need, but once they get what they need, they exit over the horizon. It can be hard to let go of—even the shortest of relationships have meaning. Real is real no matter how short it may seem. But the ones that are meant to last make an impression that doesn’t disappear over time, they build you up, they love you, they forgive you, they make time for you, and they are always there when you need help picking up your wings.

Fly to your tune graciously. Go into the wind relentlessly. The wider you can spread your wings, the more you can receive. Don’t let a moment hold you back. Remember, there are many more moments to be had.